Classical Symphony. Petite Mort. Marguerite and Armand

-ballet and contemporary dance coupé performance-

Date of premiere in the 2014-2015 season at the Bucharest National Opera House: 25th of April 2015

Performances in the 2014-2015 season:
April 25, 26 and 29, 2015
May 3, 10, 13 and 16, 2015


First part

Classical Symphony

choreography: Yuri Possokhov

music: Serghei Prokofiev (Simfonia nr.1, „Simfonia clasică”, în Re major, Op.25)

costumes: Sandra Woodall

sets/video: Yuri Zhukov

coaching and staging: Gennadi Nedvigin

original lighting design: David Finn

conductor: Ciprian Teodoraşcu

lighting design adapted by Ionuţ Gabriel Pruteanu

world premiere: April 9th 2010, San Francisco Ballet


Second part

Petite Mort

choreography: Jiří Kylián

music: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Piano Concerto no. 23 in A major, K488 – Adagio and Piano Concerto no. 21 in C major, K 467 - Andante)

costumes: Joke Visser

light concept: Jiří Kylián

light realisation: Joop Caboort

light adaptation: Kees Tjebes

coaching and staging: Elke Schepers

conductor: Ciprian Teodoraşcu

piano: Ştefan Doniga

world premiere: August 23th 1991, Kleines Festspielhaus, Salzburg Festival


Third part

Marguerite and Armand

one act ballet, inspired by „The Lady of Camellias” by Alexandre Dumas II

choreography: Sir Frederick Ashton

music: Franz Liszt (arrangement: Dudley Simpson)

designer: Sir Cecil Beaton

original lighting design: John B. Read

coaching and staging: Grant Coyle

conductor: Ciprian Teodoraşcu

piano: Ştefan Doniga

lighting design adapted by Ionuţ Gabriel Pruteanu

world premiere: March 12th 1963, Royal Opera House Covent Garden London

additional ballet coaching: Corina Dumitrescu, Călin Rădulescu, Florica Stănescu

Cast of the 2014-2015 Season: 

1. Classical Symphony

1 couple - Bianca Fota and Dawid Trzensimiech/
Cristina Dijmaru and Robert Enache

2 couples - Marina Minoiu and Shuhei Yoshida | Sena Hidaka and Barnaby Bishop /
Rin Okuno and Shuhei Yoshida | Mihaela Soare and Bogdan Cănilă

and the Bucharest National Opera House Corps de Ballet

2. Petite Mort

Cristina Dijmaru and Bogdan Cănilă
Raquel Gil-Bergstrom and Liam Morris
Sena Hidaka and Shuhei Yoshida
Bianca Fota and Robert Enache
Marina Minoiu and Dawid Trzensimiech
Bianca Stoicheciu and Barnaby Bishop

3. Marguerite and Armand

Marguerite - Alina Cojocaru / Corina Dumitrescu
Armand - Robert Enache / Dawid Trzensimiech
The Father - Călin Rădulescu 
The Duke - Antonel Oprescu 

and the Bucharest National Opera House Corps de Ballet


This season, the Bucharest National Opera House brings together, in first audition, three works of some of the most sought-after choreographers of our time - Yuri Possokhov and Jiří Kylián -, as well as one work signed by Sir Frederick Ashton, one of the greatest choreographers of the 20th century. Thus, the audience will have the occasion to see within a single performance three representative creations signed by these artists, promoters of a dance style that successfully combines contemporary and academic manners and covers a range of universally valid themes, in a space of movement and surprising ballet elements. The three compositions represent different approaches to this subject, as each of the three choreographers translated his own style and concepts into the dancers’ moves.


Classical Symphony

Choreography: Yuri Possokhov

Music: Serghei Prokofiev (Symphony No.1, Classical Symphony”, in D major, Op.25)

Costumes: Sandra Woodall

Sets: Yuri Zhukov

Rehearsals supervisor: Gennadi Nedvigin

Original lighting design: David Finn

Conductor: Ciprian Teodoraşcu


The ballet work ”Classical Symphony”, choreographed by Yuri Possokhov, had its world premiere in April 2010 at San Francisco Ballet, where it triggered a wave of excitement among American viewers. It was later approached by many prestigious companies, such as Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow, Atlanta Ballet and Cincinnati Ballet. The work was dedicated to the great ballet master Pyotr Pestov and combines classical ballet moves in a unique way, representing an opportunity for virtuosic dancers, as well as an occasio for spectators to admire some a string of spectacular steps.

”Classical Symphony” depicts an imaginary, acrobatic world, bringing to the fore magical characters that illustrate human relationships in a space resembling a dream through light and colour.


Petite Mort

Choreography: Jiří Kylián

Music: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Concertul No. 23 for piano and orchestra in A major, K488 - Adagio and Concerto No. 21 for piano and orchestra in C major, K 467 - Andante)

Costumes: Joke Visser

Lighting design cocnept: Jiří Kylián

Lighting design: Joop Caboort

Lighting design adaptation: Kees Tjebes

Conductor: Ciprian Teodoraşcu

Piano: Ştefan Doniga


Jirí Kylián created his work ”Petite Mort” in 1991 specifically for the Salzburg Festival, on the occasion of celebrating two decades since the death of composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. This ballet work bears the imprint of Kylián’s choreographic style, characterized by unexpected movements, suggestive images and interpretative force. The message of this ballet is a complex one: through ”Petite Mort”, Jirí Kylián illustrates a wide range of human conflicts – varying from the male-female conflict to the collision between a submissive and a dominant; the female dancers are being delicate and elegant while the male dancers are brutal, angry warriors, energetically charged. These antagonism of ideas are abstracted by means of moves – alternating between grace and violence – which gives the auditors the occasion to draw a conclusion for themselves. An artwork designed to raise questions rather than provide answers, ”Petite Mort” approaches major themes of humankind: war, power, misunderstanding, sexuality, love.


Marguerite and Armand

A ballet inspired by ”The Lady of the Camellias” by Alexandre Dumas-fils

Choreography: Sir Frederick Ashton

Music: Franz Liszt (orchestraţia: Dudley Simpson)

Set design: Sir Cecil Beaton

Rehearsals supervisor: Grand Coyle

Conductor: Ciprian Teodoraşcu

Piano: Ştefan Doniga


In 1963, Sir Frederick Ashton, one of the most renowned choreographers of the twentieth century, known as ”the father of English ballet”, created his work ”Marguerite and Armand” for the famous couple of artist Margot Fonteyn - Rudolf Nureyev. This ballet, which like so many other great work of art, was inspired by the novel and play ”The Lady of the Camellias” written by Alexandre Dumas-fils and re-enacts the tragic emotional love story of a courtesan in Paris and a young man whose family is trying to chase away the woman he loves. The neoclassical style used by the choreographer is characterized by subtle innovations in terms of movement patterns, as well as the opportunity it offers to dancers to create lifelike, sensitive, romantic characters.

Other shows